Pinky Stories: Antonia O’Brien, Alice Ashby & Harriet Stewart

ring collage.jpg

Antonia O’Brien, Alice Ashby and Harriet Stewart are all remarkable women carving their way through the fashion industry. Between them, they conquer design, broadcast, styling, consultancy and journalism, not to mention that two of them are juggling motherhood too. So, to mark the launch of Pinkys by Dinny we met to talk about the craziness of life and how they find the energy to really make the effort with friends when life gets in the way. What we captured as the trio gossiped (and we mean really gossiped!), ate cake and switched babies, is proof that true friendship endures, no matter how life changes and that the memories shared carry true meaning through good times and bad.

Here’s what they had to say

Antonia O’Brien @antoniaobrien

P7250139sq.jpg

 

DH: Antonia, when did you have your friendship “lightbulb moment” with Harriet?

Antonia: It’s funny we talk about this quite a lot because I vividly remember her standing by the photocopier on the first day at art college, she was wearing a boho bandana (note: seriously on-trend at the time) and I thought “this girl looks cool”. From then onwards we were inseparable and that was nearly 15 years ago. Since then we’ve travelled together, lived together, she was my bridesmaid and I am her son Huckleberry’s godmother; love at first sight.

DH: Antonia do you have a piece of jewellery that reminds you of a time or place/memory with Alice?

Antonia: I met Alice when I was nine on the first day of school; I was horribly homesick as a boarder and away from home for the first time. My birthday is in October and I remember her standing at the school gates with her mother with a present for me; it was a beautiful simple silver necklace wrapped up with a ribbon and I treasure it.

DH: Antonia, what has it meant to see Harriet become a mum?

Antonia: Seeing my friend Harry become a Mum has been incredible, it’s such a cliche but she’s a natural. It’s no surprise because Harry doesn’t do anything by halves (whether that’s an animal themed birthday party or her upcoming wedding) and was always going to take this in her stride; being asked to be Huck’s godmother was an honour.

DH: Antonia, what’s the most precious personal memory with Alice?

Antonia: It’s hard as there are so many, but one is particularly special. When Alice got married a couple of years ago, she was really worried about who would give her father of the bride speech, as her father George had passed away when we were still at school. Having known Alice since we were little, I said I would. I stood up and told her I loved her and talked about how proud I was of her and that I knew George would be too. It was an incredible moment as a friend and a very special day.

DH: Antonia, where would we find you hanging out with Alice and Harriet?

Antonia: Times have changed since two of my closest friends have become mums; actually they haven’t really! We still catch up at the same places; brunch at Farm Girl, a dinner party at Harriet’s with the babies in their cots. We might catch each other in-between shows at London Fashion Week, or get together for a pub lunch at the weekend. We still make it work and as you can tell, it often involves eating and drinking!

Harriet Stewart @harrietstewart

P7250147sq.jpg

DH: Harriet, wow would you describe Antonia?

Harriet: She’s the funniest person I know!

DH: Harriet, what is it about your friendship which makes you giggle/cry?

Harriet: Antonia and I have taken to conversing via voice notes on Whatsapp. If you could hear some of the bizarre dialogue that goes back and forth you would think we were barking mad.

DH: Where would we find you hanging out with Antonia and Alice?

Harriet: With two babies in-tow between us, we spend quite a lot of time at The Corner House right now, which is a brilliant cafe near me. Walking distance, a baby soft-play area and great coffee; the holy trinity. On a rare baby-free night though you’ll find us in Crazy Homies, Notting Hill’s best burrito and margarita hot-spot.

DH: Harriet, how important have Antonia and Alice become since entering motherhood?

Harriet: Well Antonia is Huck’s godmother and Alice is my closest friend to have a baby to me, so both of them are pretty important parts of my life right now.  I know I can always call on either of them any time of day and I can always rely on Antonia to bring cake when she comes over.

DH: Harriet, tell us a secret about your friendship with your girls

Harriet: The majority of my girl gang all know each other from school, so everyone always assumes I was at Oakham with them, but I actually met Antonia at art college and then just adopted the rest of them after that!

Alice Ashby founder of @blakeldn

P7250097sq.jpg

DH: Alice what defines the essence of your friendship with Antonia?

Alice: Love, trust and a lot of laughs. I’ve known Antonia since we were 9 years old at Oakham together, I’ve shared so much with her, that she’s basically family to me. At school, I was a day girl and she was a boarder and I remember her being terribly home sick. One evening after school I made my mum drive me back in with a huge box of chocolates to cheer her up – I was so upset seeing her that sad. I can’t imagine what she was going through, but aged 9, who wouldn’t a box of Milk Tray!

She’s also dished out a fair amount of frank but fair sisterly advise. When we’d long left school and discovered boys, I became completely infatuated with a boy and after a few months of obsessing (and no reciprocation from his end) Antonia took me to one side and said “Al, I love you, but you need to move on, it’s not happening” Thank goodness she did because not long after I met my now husband… oh the trials of being young, silly and head strong!

DH: Alice, what’s the most precious personal memory with her?

Alice: There are so many, but one particularly poignant memory, would have to be her “father of the bride” speech at my wedding. My father passed away when I was 14 and Antonia was by my side throughout. So when it came to my wedding day and someone paying tribute, there was only one person who could have taken on the mantle. That memory will be with me for eternity, there wasn’t dry eye in the house.

DH: Alice, how does it feel to share becoming a mum with one of your best friends?

Alice: I can’t think of a more amazing set of women for Rudy (my little girl) to have as role models. Having grown up together from such a young age, there’s a part of me that feels like we’re all still 18, I can’t really believe I’m in charge of another human being, so I’m blessed to have so many smart women around me, to share the highs and lows of motherhood – an hour or two with them makes me feel like “me” again. We’ve all helped and supported each other through life changes, losses, family difficulties and career changes at different times, having them at my side through this transition has been incredibly important.

DH: Alice, do you have a piece of jewellery that reminds you of a time or place/memory with Antonia?

Alice: We lived together in Shepherds Bush a few years ago and she would always be wearing her gold tiger ring. Every time I see it, it reminds me of those silly years when we raided each other wardrobes and drank wine to the early hours.

DH: Alice, what does it mean for one of your best friends to treat you to a really personal and hand-picked gift?

Alice: I have a few really special pieces from friends which I treasure and don’t take off. One ring in particular has a really personal meaning, which I was given by two friends for my 21st birthday, which has three sections to it, representing each one of us.

Photo Credits @lifeofyablon

Shop the collection:

Gold Lotus Pinky Ring

Gold Cushion Pinky Ring

Gold Almaz Pinky Ring